• Language
Klisurski Monastery of St. Cyril and St. Methodius – Varshets

Klisurski Monastery of St. Cyril and St. Methodius – Varshets

Klisurski Monastery of St. Cyril and St. Methodius is situated at the foot of Todorini kukli Peak (Todora’s Dolls Peak - 1785 m) in Stara planina (Old Mountain), 9 km away from Berkovitsa and 12 km away from Varshets.

The monastery was founded as early as the first half of the 13th century and back then it was called Vreshtitski Monastery because of its location in the valley of Vreshtitsa River. In its many years of existence the monastery has been destroyed, looted, and reconstructed several times.

In mid-19th century the monastery was reconstructed thanks to donations from local people. Archimandrite Antim Damyanov of Berkovitsa took up the initiative to rebuild the monastery and in 1869 he built the kitchen of the monastery, and then St. Nicholas Chapel, all by himself. St. Cyril and St. Methodius Temple was built in the period 1887 - 1890. Gradually, an entire monastery complex with temples and farm buildings began to take shape. The new temple was officially consecrated by the Bishop of Vidin in 1891. Klisura Monastery was one of the centres where Bulgarian education and literature were developed and Christian religion was strengthened.

The main church was restored after the Liberation of Bulgaria (1878), in the period 1936 - 1937, and master craftsmen from Samokov made the iconostasis.

There is a holy spring in the yard of the monastery complex, whose water is believed to have healing powers. St. Cyril and St. Methodius Monastery is a functioning monastery. Accommodation is available at the monastery, and visitors can purchase information materials about its history from the main temple.


PICTURES All
Klisurski Monastery of St. Cyril and St. Methodius – Varshets Klisurski Monastery of St. Cyril and St. Methodius – Varshets Klisurski Monastery of St. Cyril and St. Methodius – Varshets Klisurski Monastery of St. Cyril and St. Methodius – Varshets Klisurski Monastery of St. Cyril and St. Methodius – Varshets
Opening hours

Opening hours:
every day 7.30 am - 6.00 pm.

No admission fees.

Contacts

Klisurski Monastery of St. Cyril and St. Methodius

Tel: +359 88 6560612

e-mail: www.berkovitsa.com

RECOMMENDED TO SEE All
Museum of History, Velingrad Museum of History, Velingrad

The Velingrad History Museum was founded in 1952. It is located in Kamenitsa Housing Estate, right next to the Holy Trinity Church. One ...

The Belogradchik Cliffs – A Natural Wonder The Belogradchik Cliffs – A Natural Wonder

The Belogradchik Cliffs, a unique natural phenomenon, are roughly 30 km long and 6-7 km wide. The cliffs extend from west to east beginning at ...

The Kokalyanski Monastery „St. Archangel Michael” The Kokalyanski Monastery „St. Archangel Michael”

The Kokalyanski Monastery „St. Archangel Michael” lies a few kilometers from the village of Kokalyane, in the eastern part of Plana ...

Bayuvi dupki – Dzhindzhiritsa Reserve Bayuvi dupki – Dzhindzhiritsa Reserve

Bayuvi dupki – Dzhindzhiritsa Reserve is part of Pirin National Park. In 1934 it was declared a reserve by Ordinance No 1388 of the ...

Tsarevo Tsarevo

The town of Tsarevo is situated in the south-east part of the country, on the South Black Sea area, at a distance of about 66 km from ...